DIY Wednesday – Fall decor on a dime

Standard

I love decorating for fall. There’s so much that can be done. Leaves, pumpkins, Thanksgiving, Halloween, and so much more! It’s all so beautiful. I see fall and Halloween décor in stores and just want to buy it all. But, alas, I do not have an unlimited budget for that kind of thing. So, I bring you, fall décor on a dime! I saw this on pinterest (my love!) and thought I should try it out myself!

Check it out:

IMG_3222

A pumpkin vase.

And it’s super simple.

First, cut the top of your pumpkin. Use an empty can as a template (you’ll need this can later!)

IMG_3219

Then, clean out the pumpkin – keep the seeds for roasting! (I used this recipe from Oh She Glows and it worked out great!)

IMG_3220

Once your pumpkin is cleaned out, plop the can back in and fill with water. Cut flowers to the right length, and there you have it!

IMG_3221

IMG_3224

It’s so simple, but I absolutely love it! The can keeps the water contained and stops the pumpkin from affecting your flowers. Be sure to change the water often and cut the stems of your flowers after a few days (Thanks Martha!), it’ll keep them fresh much longer.

What’s your favourite fall décor on a dime item?

Leave a Reply

