Update – Some big news!

Standard

So, I know I have been very absent on the blog lately. Sorry about that! It’s been a busy time, but things are slowing down now. (The start of the school year doesn’t tend to be a busy time for us substitute teachers.)

However, I have some big news! The Banker and I are engaged!! I was in complete and total shock when it happened and I had a smile plastered on my face for hours afterward! 

I returned on a Friday from a trip to Cuba with my family (more on that later), and The Banker came on Saturday (August 23rd) to spend time with my family and bring me home. My parents were at a birthday party in another town, squashing The Bankers plans to ask them for my hand in marriage ahead of time. I didn’t help, telling him that day that we had to rush back home Sunday morning for more camp stuff (way to go!). So, he waited a while and when my parents didn’t return within a couple of hours, he asked if I wanted to go for a walk before dinner. I said sure, not thinking anything of it. We walked to a park in my hometown and we sat to talk for a while. He got down on one knee and asked me to marry him! It was so exciting!! And completely unexpected. 

Cue perma-smile! I didn’t shed a tear until we told my family. My mom was in utter shock and then she cried and hugged us tighter than ever! My dad and my sister were crying too – cue my tears! We had a wonderful evening of celebrating and enjoying our time! 

I am going to chronicle our planning and financials for the wedding on this blog – so stay tuned! I also promise to dedicate more time and get back to posting a few times a week 🙂 

What’s been keeping all of you busy these past few weeks? 

5 thoughts on “Update – Some big news!

Leave a Reply

