Update on Challenge #1 and Challenge #2

Standard

I’m so sorry I’m posting this so long after I should have, it’s been a busy few days!
But, here is the update on my first frugal finance challenge. I challenged myself to eat breakfast at home every day for one week – and I was successful! I know it doesn’t seem like much, but when I had to be out the door at 7:15, packed and ready for camp, it was much easier to just grab something on the way. All last week I ate at home, and it wasn’t that difficult. I just needed to plan ahead and give myself a few extra minutes. This is one that I’m going to try to continue as much as I can. 
Potential Savings: $30 🙂

As for Challenge #2 – I’m going to give up my “after camp treats”. I’m pretty bad at stopping on my way home and grabbing something to eat, or getting something at Starbucks or Tim Horton’s. So, this week I’m going to ignore any of those cravings and if I really need something, I can make it when I get home. I’m not sure how difficult this will be. I think sometimes it’s more of a ritual, not an actual desire for something. We will see if I can stick to it! Check back on Saturday to find out how I did.

What are you challenging yourself to this week?

One thought on “Update on Challenge #1 and Challenge #2

  1. Carly

    Nice! I totally get the whole ‘ritual over need’ thing! I had a light bulb moment when I read that. My challenge of bringing lunch everyday last week went okay… I got lunch 1 day of the week, which was pretty good, considering my schedule was crazy. Last week, I also made an iced coffee at home every morning instead of stopping somewhere to get one. It sure doesn’t feel like a lot money when you’re spending $1.15, but it adds up! This week, I’m trying to do healthier meals at dinnertime at home, so far so good! We’ve had chicken and veggies, pasta and stuffed peppers. Just need to keep it up over the weekend!

Leave a Reply

