Thankful

Standard

Today I was driving home from a supply job, and was hit with a sudden wave of thankfulness for all that I have.

I may have almost $30,000 in debt, I rent and don’t own, I have cheap(ish) clothes and shoes, and have nearly all hand-me-down furniture, but I have a lot. And I am thankful for it!

I get most of my supply work at the same high school. It’s downtown in the city I live, and is considered to be “the bad school”, one with a bad reputation of poor grades, poor attendance, and poor attitudes. But, I love it. And I realized today, most of these kids don’t have any of the advantages I had growing up. I knew this, but today it really hit me. I may not have had it easy, but I didn’t want for anything. I had a stable home, parents who loved me and cared about my success in school and life, heat in the winter and air conditioning in the summer; I had every need fulfilled and many wants as well.

Many of the students at this school don’t have all, or any, of that. A lot of them miss school because they need to work to pay for things at home, or because they have to babysit a sibling. Some live on their own as young as 15. A few have parents that are absent, don’t seem to care about their schoolwork, or are working constantly to put food on the table and a roof one their heads. Yet, they have positive attitudes. They respond to teachers and staff that care about them. They want to be successful. They want to get further than other members in their families. These students inspire me; they make me want to be a better person.

I am so happy to have this reminder so constantly. I can easily get down on myself for not being further ahead and not being better off financially. But when I think about all the positives in my life and all the opportunities I’ve been afforded I can take a step back and really appreciate all that I have.

Today, I am truly thankful.

2 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Lorrie Hopf

    That is a good lesson for all of us. I am reminded of one of my favourite quotes and since I work in a school as well it really hits home…..”A hundred years from now it will not matter what my bank account was, the sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove…but the world may be different because I was important in the life of a child “. You have already learned this important lesson. Well done Jacquelyn!!

Leave a Reply

