Frugal Friday – Consignment Shops

Standard

This is only the second installment of Frugal Friday, but I hope to make it more regular.

Today, my tip is about consignment shops. I never really took advantage of them in the past; my hometown didn’t have one and when we went shopping it was typically to a mall. But now, I see the value in them – big time. I suggest you all take some time to research consignment or second-hand shops in your area.

Now that it’s spring, I’m sure everyone is doing the same as me and switching out their winter and summer clothes. That means it’s the perfect time to go through your closet and clear out anything you no longer want or don’t think you’ll wear in the upcoming season. Take all of it (even if you don’t think they’ll want it) to a consignment store. They’ll likely ask for some personal information to set up a profile and then they’ll go through all of your stuff and (hopefully) offer you some money for your clothes. It may not be a lot, but I always figure a little is better than nothing, especially when I used to just get rid of anything I didn’t want. I like to bring along a box or disposable bag and go to a donation box afterwards with anything that didn’t sell. That way, you don’t have to make another trip and you don’t have to try to stuff it all back in your already packed closet.

Plus, you can take a look around the store while they sort through your clothes and you may find something just for you. The nice part about consignment shops is that they’re very specific about what they take, so there should be no pulls or stains. Just yesterday, I made $8.10 on some stuff that I hadn’t used in quite a while (which I promptly spent at the dollar store!). There were the coolest shoes from forever21 for only $8, but they were too big – dang it! L

Have you had any luck at consignment shops – either buying or selling?

4 thoughts on “Frugal Friday – Consignment Shops

  1. Carly

    i literally have a bag of clothes to take to the consignment store and sell in my car right now!! i’ve never really found anything that i like at the store(s), and i’m usually wanting to declutter my closet, so i try not to look around too much!

      • Carly

        So, I finally took my stuff to the consignment shop and got a whopping $5 haha. The last time I went, I got $40 for the same amount of stuff (large bag with clothes and shoes/boots). I think this particular store is cutting back on what they buy because they’re so full since university kids are selling their clothes too. I dropped off what they wouldn’t take some other things (old pots and pans) to the goodwill/sally ann. Need to do some more spring cleaning this coming weekend!

Leave a Reply

