Featured Friday

Standard

Hello Lovelies, today’s post comes from my dear friend Carly, a few of you might remember the post she wrote for me a few week ago. (If not, find it here) She’s back with another wonderful blog post:

My best money mistakes

We have all made epic money mistakes and fails. Here is just a handful of mine. Live and learn, kids!

  1. I once begged (and I mean seriously begged) my mom to buy    me a vest/jacket thing when I was about 9 years old when we were out shopping for my brother. It was the coolest piece of clothing ever. She made me explain how I would keep care of it and why I needed it. I guess my sales pitch was pretty good, and she bought it for me. About a week later, I left it at the playground and never saw it again. My first lesson in seriously taking care of things you like and own. I was so disappointed in myself because I knew my mom had paid for it and I failed by not taking care of it.
  2. A few years ago, I had a professional massage done and paid for it. I was literally too lazy to print of the reimbursement forms from my health insurance to redeem the money paid. I willingly gave away $80.00 that I could’ve recouped with one stamp and a few minutes of my time. Whoops.
  3. In university, I racked up regular cell phone bills in the $200.00 range. (This was before Smartphone’s, people). I was too intimidated by the cell phone company (grrr Telus) to complain about my bill being wrong (was supposed to get free texting, but was charged .75 for each text), so I reluctantly paid it each month. I remember the highest bill being $212.00 for one month alone.
  4. I used to purposely round-down my time when I worked hourly. When I had to log my own hours at a previous job, I cut myself short. For example, if I worked a 6.5 hour shift, I would mark my hours as 6 for the day. I was so paranoid about getting in trouble for working too many hours. To this day, I don’t know how many hours I actually worked and didn’t give myself credit for.
  5. When I was a waitress/server, we were required to tip-out at the end of each shift (obvious and pretty normal). We were also required to put in $2.00 each shift into the dine-and-dash fund. Well, I found out that I was the only person to actually put that $2 in each shift. My manager told us we would get the money we put in back at the end of the season if we were never dined and dashed on. I never did and I never even asked for it. I estimate I lost about $200+ in that fiasco.
  6. A few months ago, I went through the self-checkout till at the grocery story (terrible idea). I got cash back when I paid but completely forgot to pick it up (realized about a day later). Oops.

What is a recent money fail you have made?

Leave a Reply

