Who Am I?

Standard

Since this is my first post, I thought I should tell you a little about who I am.

I decided to start this blog after becoming an avid reader of other personal finance blogs. I have a beautiful friend who introduced me to many, and has been a great help in pushing me to get this started. I don’t know if I can add anything new or really exciting, but I do hope that I can help someone, and maybe have a few people learn from this, and just enjoy reading.

I am a 25 year old, living with my boyfriend (who really is a banker). I’m a supply teacher, I work with children with ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder), and am a Cheese Lover (no, really, that’s my job title at a cheese store!). I work quite a bit, but still feel like I can’t get my finances entirely under control.

I graduated from Teachers College in the spring, after taking 5 years for my BA. Needless to say, after putting myself through all this school with little help from my parents, I have a lot of student debt. I will be chronicling my attempt to pay this down, as well as some helpful hints and some DIY projects (they’re my favourite).

Currently I owe:
$1,300 on my credit card
$2,000 to my boyfriend (he helped pay some of my debt, and booked us flights)
$1850 to my parents (car insurance and they paid for an Additional Qualification course for teaching)
$26,100 to student loans (and I have to say, this started at $30,000-can’t complain!)

TOTAL: $31, 250

This seems completely terrifying, but I have to think about what I’ve paid down, and how much I’ve been working lately, and it seems slightly more manageable.

I can’t wait to see where this whole adventure takes me, and look forward to sharing the ride with you!

2 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Mackenzie

    YAY!! I love this new blog and layout. I can totally relate to what you’re saying about debt and not feeling like you have it under control. I have about $14,000 in student loan debt and I also owe my parents too :/

Leave a Reply

